8x8: A Chess Sonata in 8 Movements (1957) Jean Cocteau, Hans Richter

by: rdal333 [8 videos »]

8 × 8: A Chess Sonata in 8 Movements (1957) is an American experimental film directed by Hans Richter, Marcel Duchamp, and Jean Cocteau released on March 15, 1957 in New York City. It features original music by Robert Abramson, John Gruen and Douglas Townsend. Described by Richter as "part Freud, part Lewis Carroll", it is a fairy tale for the subconscious based on the game of chess. While living in New York, Hans Richter directed two feature films, Dreams That Money Can Buy and 8x8: A Chess Sonata in collaboration with Max Ernst, Cocteau, Paul Bowles, Fernand Léger, Alexander Calder, Duchamp, and others, which was partially filmed on the lawn of his summer house in Southbury, Connecticut.
Play Next Vid »
The Diary of Tortov Roddle
5 yrs ago   53:21
678.01 MB   English
chess sonata,1957,jean cocteau,hans richter

Comments (1)